The COMP Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is the highest award given by the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists and will be given to currently active or retired individuals to recognize an outstanding career as a medical physicist who has worked mainly in Canada. A significant contribution is defined as one or more of the following:

  • A body of work which has added to the knowledge base of medical physics in such a way as to fundamentally alter the practice of medical physics.
  • Leadership positions in medical physics organizations which have led to improvements in the status and public image of medical physicists in Canada
  • Significant influence on the professional development of the careers of medical physicists in Canada through educational activities or mentorship

The medal will be awarded as appropriate candidates are selected but it will not generally be given more than once per year.

Information for the 2019 submission process coming soon.

2018 COMP Gold Medal Winner

The Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (COMP) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2018 Gold medal is Dr. Anna Celler.

Throughout her 27-year career as a medical physicist in Canada, Dr. Celler has served as a strong mentor for many students and contributed significantly the literature and scientific knowledge in medical physics. Dr. Celler has published more than 130 peer reviewed journal publications in the field of nuclear medicine physics with several more currently submitted.

In her position within the Vancouver General Hospital and University of British Columbia Faculty of Medicine, Dr. Celler has been awarded several grants and has single-handedly created a research program that is now into its third decade.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Anna Celler! 

COMP Gold Medal Recipients


Anna Celler


Jake Van Dyk


Jerry Battista


Aaron Fenster


G. Peter Raaphorst


Margaret E. J. Young


Michael S. Patterson


Ervin B. Podgorsak


Chris Thompson


John C. F. McDonald


John Aldrich


John (Jack) Cunningham, Sylvia Fedoruk, Douglas Cormack


David W.O. Rogers