Michael S. Patterson Publication Prize

This prize was introduced in 2016 and is awarded for a scientific paper written by a COMP member that has had a tremendous impact on the field of medical physics. Peer-reviewed papers published in any scientific journal in the last ten years are considered and the work must have been performed mainly at a Canadian institution. Publication must represent a significant advance in medical physics. The winner is the eligible paper that has received the most citations in the Web of Science maintained by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) including citations from all data bases.

2018 Michael S. Patterson Publication Prize Winners

David Jaffray, PhD, ABMP, FCOMP and Monique Van Prooijen, PhD, MCCPM
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

"Gold nanoparticles as radiation sensitizers in cancer therapy"

Co-authors: Devika Chithrani, Salomeh Jelveh, Farid Jalali, Christine Allen, Robert G. Bristow, Richard Peter Hill

Past Winners


Alex Vitkin, Co-Authors Adrian Mariampillai, Beau A Standish, Eduardo H Moriyama, Mamta Khurana, Nigel R Munce, Michael K.K. Leung, James Jiang, Alex Cable, Brian C. Wilson, Victor X. D. Yang
"Speckle variance detection of microvasculature using swept-source optical coherence tomography"


Karl Otto
"Volumetric modulated arc therapy: IMRT in a single gantry arc"