Sylvia Fedoruk Prize


During her 35 years of service, Dr. Fedoruk brought honour to her country, her home province, the medical physics community, all the while maintaining a "down to earthness" which distinguishes her as a "people person". These qualities contributed to her receiving awards such as Saskatoon's Woman of the Year, The Order of Canada, and Saskatchewan's Award of Merit, all in 1986. That same year, she was elected Chancellor of the University of Saskatchewan, and in 1995 she completed a 5-1/2 year term as Saskatchewan's Lieutenant Governor. Dr. Fedoruk was inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame in 2008.

In 1986, the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency established the Sylvia Fedoruk Prize in Medical Physics to honour Dr. Fedoruk for her 35 years of dedicated and distinguished service to Saskatchewan's cancer program. The prize was first awarded in 1988. Selection is made by an anonymous panel of judges appointed jointly by the Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine and the Canadian Organization of Medical Physics.

The prestigious Sylvia Fedoruk Prize is presented for the best paper on a subject falling within the field of medical physics, relating to work carried out wholly or mainly within a Canadian institution and published during the past calendar year. The Sylvia Fedoruk Prize selection process is a multi-stage complex procedure conducted by a panel of anonymous nominators and judges to ensure that the best work is chosen.

In the past, all Canadian manuscripts published in the journals of Medical Physics and Physics in Medicine and Biology were considered for the award. Additionally, other medical physics papers published in other journals could be nominated. Beginning in 2018, the Sylvia Fedoruk Prize selection process will be solely based on COMP member nominations.

Any COMP member can nominate a single Canadian medical physics paper, including one of their own. Nominations for the SFP of a given year are to be made between the beginning of January and the end of February of the following year. Each nomination will have to be accompanied with a maximum one-page justification letter describing each of the Sylvia Fedoruk Prize criteria, which are originality, clarity, science quality and impact on the field. The relationship between the nominator and the authors, such as close collaborators, members of the same committee, friends, family, etc., will also have to be declared in the nomination letter. Nancy Barrett ( will be collecting all nominations.

 The award consists of a plaque and a cash prize.

Deadline for submissions: 30 March 2019

2018 Sylvia Fedoruk Award Winner

Award Winners

Congratulations to Marc-André Renaud, McGill University
Co-authors: Monica Serban, Jan Seuntjens


On mixed electron-photon radiation therapy optimization using the column generation approach